Festival of abrivado

This festival is a unique meeting, a tribute to horses and lovers of bovines...

Every year, on November 11th, the "abrivado" festival gathers more than 200 "gardians" (cowboys) and 1,000 horses from all over Provence to participate in this festival on the beaches of Saintes Maries de la Mer exceptionally open that day to riders and their horses.

The public, enthralled by the hammering of horses' hooves, can admire this crazy race safely and share the thrills of this traditional parade of horses which accompany bulls at a trotting pace into the arenas.

The jubilation of the festival starts round a breakfast offered on the beach. Then, when eleven o'clock rings, the riders and bulls depart. The procession of the "abrivado" follows the traditional 6 km ( 4 miles) route from the east beach to the arenas of the Saintes.

Eleven "abrivados" follow one another. They put the "gardians'" know-how to the test, attempting to contain bulls which can escape at any time.

This annual riding event is a perfect mix between the pleasure of riding and the Camargue traditions. It is the image of the fiery Camargue customs and of the local passion for horses.

Festival d'abrivado

Ce Festival est une rencontre unique, à la gloire des chevaux et des passionnés de bouvine

Chaque année, pour le 11 novembre, le Festival d’abrivado regroupe plus de 200 gardians et 1000 chevaux venus de toute la Provence pour participer à ce Festival sur les plages des Saintes Maries exceptionnellement ouvertes aux cavaliers et à leur montures ce jour là.

Le public, gagné par le martèlement des sabots des chevaux, peut admirer cette course folle en toute sécurité et partager les frissons de cette parade équestre traditionnelle qui permet d’amener les taureaux au petit trot jusqu’aux arènes.

La liesse du festival commence autour d’un petit déjeuner offert sur la plage, puis à 11 heures, on sonne le départ des cavaliers et des taureaux. La colonne d’abrivado effectue le parcours traditionnel de la plage Est aux arènes des Saintes Maries, sur une distance de 6 km.

Onze abrivados se succèdent et s’enchaînent. Elles mettent le savoir-faire des gardians à rude épreuve pour contenir les taureaux toujours prêts à s’échapper.

Fusion du plaisir de monter et des traditions de Camargue, cet événement équestre annuel aux Saintes Maries est à l’image de la fougue des coutumes camarguaises et de l’amour que l’on porte ici aux chevaux .